Preface

Hi there,
I’m Kevin Leonard, an FRC alumni and current college student at the Rochester Institute of Technology studying Mechanical Engineering.
I was a member of FRC Team 20 from Clifton Park, New York for four years, during the 2011-2014 seasons.

I returned over my school’s quite long Winter break to help my old team out with their 2015 season. I also returned at competitions to help in any way I could. It was during this season that I met FRC Team 5254, during our joint Finalist run at the 2015 New York Tech Valley Regional. The Trumansburg Robot Raiders became some of Team 20’s closest friends throughout the season, even working together on picklisting and strategy in the Carson Division of the 2015 World Championship Event in St. Louis.

Clifton Park is located about 3.5 hours away from RIT, and Trumansburg is located about 1.5 hours away from RIT. Neither is close to my school, but I’ve been helping both teams however I can from afar, during Winter Break for Team 20, and I plan to help Team 5254 on weekends during the 2016 build season.

The goal of this blog is to document the challenges and triumphs associated with mentoring two robotics teams while also studying engineering in college, and to document how each team’s engineering process may change based on the actions of the other.

Chance are very good I’ll forget to update this blog, and it will become abandoned, like many other FRC blogs I’ve seen, but the goal is to update any time something significant happens.

Leave a Reply

